I’ve heard of the purported health benefits of eating placenta, but as an observant Jew I’d never considered the question raised in this Kveller article by Esther Hornstein – is eating placenta even kosher?

    After all, cannibalism certainly isn’t , and the placenta contains blood. An important part of preparing kosher meat is to extract all of the blood with salt.

    Afterbirth’s kosher status is not a settled matter, but Hornstein consulted an Orthodox rabbi who has one take on it.

    Rabbi Dovid Kornreich believes that he may have written the first Jewish legal analysis of whether eating placenta is permissible . (Again, he cautions that his is only one opinion – please consult your own rabbi before eating your afterbirth.)

    Kornreich’s conclusion is that as a food per se, placenta is not kosher. But if you dehydrate it and crush it and put the results into pill capsules, it’s not considered food anymore under Jewish law, because you won’t taste it.

    Instead, the pills fall into the category of medicine , and you can swallow them. (Similarly, although oysters are not kosher, taking calcium supplements derived from oyster shells is ok.)

    Kornreich notes that you should create the pills with different cooking utensils than you ones you use to prepare your food.

    Back in 2010, Evan interviewed Sara Pereira, a placenta encapsulation specialist who creates pills for women who want to do what Hornstein did.

    Good Food contributor Eddie Lin went a step further. At his wife’s request, he cooked her placenta for her , simmering it medium rare in sesame oil and wine.

    Not kosher, but she said it was delicious.

    Are placentas kosher?
    Kornreich's conclusion is that as a food per se, placenta is not kosher. more
    What's the difference between kosher and non-kosher food?
    Kosher meals are meals which have been prepared in accordance with Jewish dietary law, while non-Kosher meals do not adhere to the rules of Jewish dietary law. For devout followers of the Jewish faith, the difference between Kosher and non-Kosher meals is critical, because eating non-Kosher foods is frowned upon. more
    How do you make a non kosher kitchen kosher?
    No food or dishes should be put directly into non-kosher sinks. There should be separate dish pans and slightly elevated racks under the dish pans for both meat and dairy. more
    What is the difference between kosher and kosher for Passover?
    The major difference between the two is that Kosher for Passover excludes any food that is chametz (or hametz), which translates to “leavened.” This knocks out any of these common five grains: wheat, barley, rye, oats, and spelt. more
    What is kosher and non-kosher food?
    In accordance with Jewish dietary law, kosher certified means meat and milk products are not mixed together, animal products from non-kosher food animals are not included, and kosher meat is from animals that are properly slaughtered. more
    What is the difference between kosher and non kosher?
    Kosher meals are meals which have been prepared in accordance with Jewish dietary law, while non-Kosher meals do not adhere to the rules of Jewish dietary law. For devout followers of the Jewish faith, the difference between Kosher and non-Kosher meals is critical, because eating non-Kosher foods is frowned upon. more
    Why is kosher salt called kosher salt?
    Is it actually kosher? Well, it can be. But really, kosher salt is called kosher salt because the size of its crystals is ideal for drawing out moisture from meat, making it perfect for use in the koshering process. That's also why we love to use it for cooking almost everything. more
    What makes kosher grape juice kosher?
    To be considered kosher, wines or grape juices either must be made exclusively by Jewish people or must have been boiled or heat-pasteurized at some point in their production. Many 100 percent juice products use white grape juice as a sweetener, so many juices that might seem fine can become unkosher. more
    What makes kosher ice cream kosher?
    So while a cow might give enough milk to make two gallons of ice cream in a day, not all of that milk may be considered kosher. For fully kosher establishments, milk must be produced with full-time supervision of the animal and the milking process. This is called Cholov Yisroel. more
    Whats the difference between kosher and kosher for Passover?
    The major difference between the two is that Kosher for Passover excludes any food that is chametz (or hametz), which translates to “leavened.” This knocks out any of these common five grains: wheat, barley, rye, oats, and spelt. more
    What is the difference between kosher and non kosher wine?
    1) Kosher wine is made "in precisely the same way as 'regular' wine." The only difference is that there is rabbinical oversight during the process and that the wine is handled "by Sabbath-observant Jews." more

    Source: www.kcrw.com

    You may be interested in...

    Which river is known as Dead River in India?

    What canned foods are good for emergencies?

    Is spaghetti squash a diuretic?

    Do agnostics believe in a God?

    What app can I use to see if my husband is cheating?

    Does biotin help hairloss?

    Does New York Life do financial planning?

    What is the voltage in Cuba?

    Who is the No 1 intelligent person in the world?

    Can I share my Amazon Prime account in Canada?

    What does 1121 mean in rice?

    How do you read financial statements for dummies?

    Does McDonald's have a dress code?

    What does being chased in a dream mean?

    How much is worth Jennifer Aniston?

    About Privacy Contact
    ©2022 REPOKIT