Are you wondering if Snapchat will notify someone when you look at their snap location?
Maybe you accidentally tapped on someone’s snap location and you’re wondering whether they’ll be notified.
Or maybe you’ve been looking at someone’s location often and you want to know whether the person is aware of it.
Either way, if someone happens to know that you’re looking at their location, they might think that you’re stalking them.
In this article, you’ll learn whether someone knows if you look at their snap location, and other frequently asked questions.
By the end of the article, you should have a better understanding on how Snapchat locations work.
Does Snapchat Notify When You Look at Someone’s Location?
No, Snapchat does not notify when you look at someone’s location as they have removed the status page in mid-2020 in an update.
No, Snapchat does not notify the person if you looked at their snap location.
In the past version of Snapchat (early 2020), you used to be able to check if someone has looked at your location by opening the “eye” icon on your status page. However, you have to be traveling or have set a status in order to see who viewed your location.
As of mid-2020, Snapchat has removed the status feature and you can no longer check if someone has viewed your location.
In the past version of Snapchat (early 2020), if you were to look at someone’s location while they’re traveling or if they set a status, they will be aware of it if they opened the “eye” icon on the status page.
But if you just had your standard location on Snapchat, you will not be able to know if someone has viewed your location.
However, as of mid-2020, Snapchat removed the status feature and you can no longer access it.
If you were to open the Snap Map now, you’ll no longer see the status icon at the bottom of the page.
This means that there is no way that someone will be notified if you looked at their snap location in the present.
That being said, the removal of the status feature means that you can view anyone’s location without them knowing.
However, you can no longer know if someone is stalking you based on your location on Snapchat.
How long does your location stay on Snapchat?
Your location will stay on Snapchat for about 8 hours, and then it’ll disappear on the map.
Your location will stay on Snapchat for about 8 hours.
After 8 hours, your location will disappear on the Snap Map.
Unless you turned on Ghost Mode, your location will be visible to the people you’ve set in your privacy settings.
For example, if you were to set your location settings to “My Friends”, only your friends will be able to see your location.
Secondly, if you set your location to “My Friends, Except …”, all your friends will be able to see your location except for selected ones.
Lastly, if you set your location to “Only These Friends …”, only selected friends will be able to see your location on the map.
Does ghost mode show your last location?
No, enabling on Ghost Mode will not show your last location to anyone.
When you enable Ghost Mode, no one will be able to see your last or current location for a chosen duration.
By enabling Ghost Mode, your friends will not be able to see your location.
When enabling Ghost Mode, you can set 3 different timers for it—3 hours, 24 hours, and Until turned off.
If you chose “Until turned off” as the duration of the Ghost Mode, your location will not be visible to anyone until you turn it off.
You can enable Ghost Mode if you don’t want people snooping on your location.
Can you tell the last time someone was on Snapchat?
To tell the last time someone was on Snapchat, you can either check when their last story was posted or check their location on the Snap Map.
You can check either check someone’s location on the Snap Map or check when their last story was posted to tell the last time that they are on Snapchat.
To view their story, go to the “Discover” page on Snapchat, and tap on their story.
On their story, the time of which the story was posted is displayed under their name.
For example, if the duration under their name shows, “19h ago from camera roll”, then they might have been on Snapchat 19 hours ago.
If you want to know the exact last time someone was on Snapchat, you can check their location on the Snap Map.
Here’s a step-by-step guide to check the last time someone was on Snapchat by checking their location:
Checking someone’s location is the best way to find out the last time someone was on Snapchat.
However, if they haven’t been on Snapchat for more than 8 hours, their location will disappear from the Snap Map.
In this article, you’ve learned whether Snapchat notifies someone when you look at their location on the Snap Map, and other frequently asked questions.
To summarize, Snapchat does not notify someone when you look at their location.
This is after the update in mid-2020 where Snapchat removed the status feature.
So if you’ve accidentally looked at someone’s location or have been constantly doing so, you don’t have to worry about them knowing.
> ? How to Increase Your Snapchat Score [New Step-By-Step Guide]
> How to Know if Someone is Stalking You on Instagram
> What Does “Active today” Mean on Instagram?
Author: Lim How Wei is the founder of Followchain . Feel free to follow him on Instagram .